Historical place

Historic place with today’s problems

Narela: historic place with contemporary issues


1970-01-01T05: 30: 00 + 0530

Narela: historic place with contemporary issues

New Delhi, January 13 (IANS) The historically significant Narela Assembly District in Delhi is grappling with the current problems of poor roads, lack of proper transportation and water supply.

The history of Delhi Narela dates back to the Harappa and Indus Valley civilization and it is also mentioned in the ‘Tuzuk-e-Jahangiri’, the autobiography of Mughal Emperor Jahangir.

Most of the towns in the constituency are rural. Villages including Lampur, Akbarpur Majra, Bakhtawarpur, Bakouli, Bankner, Bhorgarh, Budhpur, Ghoga, Hamidpur, Hiranki and Holambi Kalan are part of the constituency.

Also part of the constituency are the villages of Holambi Khurd, Iradat Nagar, Jhangola, Jindpur, Khampur, Khera Kalan, Shahpur Garhi, Singhola, Singhu, Sungerpur, Tajpur Kalan and Tigipur.

Located on the border of Delhi and Haryana, the area lies just off the Grand Trunk Road, one of the oldest and longest roads in Asia that connected the Indian subcontinent with the Central Asia.

Narela was developed as the Delhi Development Authority (DDA) third mega sub-city project in Delhi Urban Expansion Project, after Rohini Sub City and Dwarka Sub City.

While the city has gone through several waves of change, the constituency, however, has more or less faced some basic issues, with much of it seen as unauthorized.

According to residents, the main survival problems they face are lack of water and sewage supplies, traffic jams, narrow lanes, poor roads with potholes and lack of ” an appropriate public transport system. Even the metro has not yet reached the area. The Delhi Metro Red Line Phase IV extension will hit Narela with the expected completion date of the Rithala-Narela extension by 2024.

Narela industrial zone and Anaj Mandi make the location crucial from a commercial and commercial point of view.

With 2,52,467 voters and 1,13,118 women, the constituency has a sex ratio of 812 – lower than the state’s gender ratio of 824. Interestingly, the five MPs elected between 1993 and 2015 were men.

In 2015, AAP’s Sharad Chauhan won the seat with 59.97% of the total vote. In 2015, a total of eight male candidates ran from headquarters. All major parties, including the BJP, Congress, AAP, BSP, Shiv Sena and CPI-ML, contested the seat that year.

From 1993 to 2008, the seat was a segment of the East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, before which it was part of the Metropolitan Council segment.

After the 2008 delineation, Narela is now an assembly segment within the North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

Between the legislative elections of 1993 and 2015, the seat elected Congress three times in 1998, 2003 and 2008. It elected the BJP in 1993 and 2013, when Congress and the AAP formed a government during 49 days.

The city will go to the polls again on February 8 with the AAP, Congress and BJP having the top candidates. The election is crucial for all three parties. The AAP won 67 of the 70 Assembly seats in the 2015 Delhi elections. The BJP got the other three while Congress, which ruled the city for 15 years, went blank.

(Nivedita Singh can be contacted at [email protected])


nks / kr

Disclaimer: – This story has not been edited by Outlook staff and is auto-generated from news agency feeds. Source: IANS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.